Pennsylvania Motorcycle Law

Motorcycle Law

Definition:
A motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not
more than three wheels in contact with the ground, or designed to travel on two wheels in
contact with the ground which is modified by the addition of two stabilizing wheels on the rear of
the motor vehicle.

Criteria:
1. Inspection required.
2. Motorcycle plate issued.
3. Individuals who meet the following criteria are able to choose whether to wear a motorcycle
helmet:

  • The operator or any occupant of a 3-wheeled motorcycle equipped with an enclosed cab.
  • A person 21 years of age or older who has been licensed to operate a motorcycle for at least
    two years.
  • A person 21 years of age or older who has completed a motorcycle rider safety course
    approved by PennDOT or the Motorcycle Safety Foundation.
  • The passenger of a person who is exempt, if the passenger is 21 years of age or older.

4. Eye protection required.
5. Annual registration fee is $18.
6. Class M (motorcycle) required on driver’s license.
7. Class M or a Class M with a “9” restriction required on driver’s license. NOTE: A “9” restriction
prohibits the driver from operating a 2-wheeled motorcycle.

NOTE: Side-cars are not titled or registered in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.